How I Began My Journey with Tarot and Oracle Decks

Dali Universal Tarot VAB
Dali Universal Tarot

I’ve really started to study and learn to read tarot at the beginning of this year in January 2015. So far it’s been an incredible journey and I am sure it will continue to be so, because I cannot imagine my life without reading tarot and oracle cards. The first deck I’ve ever purchased was a tarot deck in 2005. It was The Rider Tarot Deck, by Arthur Edward Waite with illustrations by Pamela Colman Smith, first published in 1971 by U.S. Games Systems Inc. I tried to work with this deck then, but it was so confusing for me at that time. With it I purchased a book called Tarot Made Easy, by Nancy Garen. This book confused me so much then, and although I still have it, is not a book I use to learn tarot now. I think the book is ok, but once one is familiar with tarot. I think for a beginner it can make things a lot more difficult and overwhelming due to the amount of possible interpretations based on different areas of life such as love, career, health and more. I realized this year that that book was the worst beginner tarot learner book that I could have bought for myself. But that’s what I had to start with and I picked it not knowing anything about tarot. I ignorantly thought that it would work for me. That’s ok though, because I kept the book and the deck, and then I gave it another try around 2011. But It was still hard and confusing for me so I left it alone again until December of 2014.

Gateway Oracle Cards
Gateway Oracle Cards
Archangel Oracle Cards
Archangel Oracle Cards

What helped me get back into tarot in 2014, was that in 2013, I bought my first oracle deck. The deck is called Gateway Oracle, by Denise Linn, and I slowly started working with oracle cards at that time. I found the oracle system easier to use, and I fell in love with the system and art on oracle cards. At first I avoided angel oracle decks, but in August 2014, I purchased three angel oracle decks by Doreen Virtue, called Angel Therapy Oracle Cards, Archangel Oracle Cards, and the Archangel Raphael Healing Oracle Cards, which was the one I most used at the beginning. From there on I have been using all sorts of different themed oracle decks, and there are a lot of amazing decks available.

Learning the Tarot Book
Learning the Tarot Book

Once I have become more familiar with oracle decks, I went back to my tarot deck in December 2014, due to watching oracle cards review on YouTube, which brought me to some reviews of tarot decks. To be honest I was very intrigued by tarot and I started to watch some tarot lessons and used my Rider deck to learn along with the videos. I also bought another tarot book which really helped me to get started this time. the book is called Learning the Tarot: A Tarot Book for Beginners, by Joan Bunning, and it’s a great book for someone just starting out. Since then I bought more amazing tarot books and my journey started. I’ve started using the cards more and more, and now I’m hooked. Right now I’m using tarot pretty much every day, and it’s because I find that with tarot I have to spend a lot more time with the deck and its cards. It takes most people longer to study and learn the specific tarot system. I am still using oracle decks occasionally, and plan to start using them a lot more in the future along with tarot. I mostly use oracle decks not when I’m doing readings for my friends and their friends, which seem to favor mostly the angel oracle decks.  To practice readings with my tarot decks, I’ve started to ask my friends to let me do readings for them, and this way I can get some real practice, but it’s not easy for me. I still have a lot to learn, but it has definitely started to get a little easier for me since I’ve spent a lot of time with my tarot decks this year.

I just love my tarot and oracle decks and my life is very enriched due to those little cards with beautiful images on them.

I hope you enjoyed reading about how I began my tarot and oracle reading journey, and got something out of it.

Love and Blessings from Veronica!

2 thoughts on “How I Began My Journey with Tarot and Oracle Decks

  1. I’ve used Joan Bunning’s book myself and found it to be a very good foundation book. I would also recommend Rachel Pollack’s “78 Degrees of Wisdom”, which seems to be a staple of many people’s collections.

    Happy blogging 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

